Monday, May 7, 2018

California’s Community College Trustees Convene for 2018 Annual Trustees Conference Focused on Board Governance and Student Success

Trustees Elect New Officers at Annual Business Meeting

VALENCIA, CA – Community college trustees from across the state gathered in Valencia, California over the weekend for the 2018 Annual Trustees Conference. The annual conference, hosted by the Community College League of California (League), is an opportunity for trustees to strengthen their board governance, learn new skills, and improve their ability to serve their community. Conference speakers and sessions focus student success, fiscal responsibility, educational trends and effective trusteeship.

California Community Colleges Chancellor Eloy Ortiz Oakley opened the conference on Friday, May 4th with a workshop on ways trustees can support the implementation of Guided Pathways and how these efforts work to build toward the Vision for Success.

J. Noah Brown, President and CEO of the Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT), joined trustees on Saturday, May 5th to keynote the general session luncheon. Brown discussed trends of critical impact for two-year colleges throughout the U.S., and how California community colleges can respond to these new realties while continuing to provide a high-quality education. Saturday’s luncheon also honored six trustees for 20 years of service to California’s community colleges. The trustees honored included: Philip Harris, Barstow CCD; Timothy Heiden Barstow CCD; Richard Holober, San Mateo County CCD; Alan Dyar, Siskiyou Joint CCD; Dennis Henderson, Victor Valley CCD; and Nina Oxborrow, West Hills CCD.

Throughout the conference trustees had the opportunity to attend sessions on a variety of topics from enrollment management and natural disasters to pending legislation and serving disadvantaged students. On Sunday, May 6th, the closing session highlighted AB 705 (Statutes of 2017), a new law requiring community colleges to use high school grades for placement into college-level English and math. “The intent behind AB 705 was to use evidence-based practices to see more students graduating or transferring in a timely manner,” said Assemblymember Jacqui Irwin (AD-44), who joined the panel. “By partnering with several higher education stakeholders, including the Community College League of California, we crafted this bill to recognize students’ previous coursework and potential when placing them into courses while giving colleges flexibility in how to design new curricula. By acknowledging that the vast majority of students are capable of graduating on time to pursue their careers, I hope to see this bill implemented to provide short and clear pathways for students to succeed.”

At the annual meeting of the California Community Colleges Trustees (CCCT), trustees voted to elect the following officers 2018-19 CCCT Board:

  • President: Jim Moreno, Coast CCD
  • President-Elect: Linda Wah, Pasadena CCD
  • First Vice-President: Stephan Castellanos, San Joaquin Delta CCD
  • Second Vice -President: Adriene Grey, West Valley- Mission CCD

“During my year as president I will focus on two key areas: College Affordability and Streamlined Access to Financial Aid,” said Coast Community College District Trustee Jim Moreno. “If we can’t get individuals the funding they need to attend our colleges in the first few days of enrollment, we risk losing them as students and future college graduate.”

New officers of the CCCT Board begin their term on May 7, 2018. The CCCT Board takes positions on education policy issues that come before the California Community Colleges Board of Governors and State Legislature.

For photos of the 2018 Annual Trustees Conference visit the League’s Facebook page:


The Community College League of California is a nonprofit public benefit corporation with a voluntary membership of the 72 local community college districts in California. The League promotes student access and success by strengthening colleges through advocacy, leadership development, district services, and policy development. Visit our website at